Find Oregon icon; Meet Oregon icon Marcus Mariota (AP Photo/Chris Pietsch); Experience Oregon icon (mural by Casey McEneny); Play Oregon icon Find Oregon: Almanac Meet Oregon: Notable Oregonians Experience Oregon: Web Exhibits Play Oregon: Games and More

How do I...?


Facebook and e-mail icons Facebook Contact us

Home > Education > Higher Education: Related Entities

Higher Education: Related Entities

The Wooden Shoe Tulip Farm in rural Clackamas County. (Oregon State Archives Photo)

The Wooden Shoe Tulip Farm in rural Clackamas County. (Oregon State Archives Photo)

Oregon Health and Science University
Joseph E. Robertson, MD, MBA, President
Address: 3181 SW Sam Jackson Park Rd., Portland 97239-3098
Phone: 503-494-8311
Fax: 503-494-8935

The Oregon Health & Science University (OHSU) occupies a unique status in Oregon higher education. OHSU has been organized as a public corporation since 1995. It is not a part of OUS. OHSU is governed by a board of directors that is appointed by the governor and confirmed by the Senate. The public policy of the university is delineated in statute. OHSU includes Oregon’s only academic health center and has schools of medicine, dentistry, nursing, and science and engineering. The state continues to support OHSU through grants, primarily for its educational activities. These grants totaled $68,862,387 in the 2013–2015 biennium.


Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education
Address: PO Box 3175, Eugene 97403
Phone: 541-346-5729

The Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education (WICHE) is a regional organization created by the Western Regional Education Compact, adopted in the 1950s by 15 western states. WICHE was created to facilitate resource sharing among the higher education systems of the West. It has implemented a number of regional activities to accomplish its objectives. Fifteen states are members of WICHE, which is governed by three gubernatorially-appointed commissioners from each state. Under terms of the compact, each state commits to support WICHE’s basic operations through annual dues established by the full commission. Oregon’s three commissioners are Ryan Deckart, Portland; Cam Preus, Pendleton; and Hilda Rosselli, Salem.