Find Oregon icon; Meet Oregon icon Marcus Mariota (AP Photo/Chris Pietsch); Experience Oregon icon (mural by Casey McEneny); Play Oregon icon Find Oregon: Almanac Meet Oregon: Notable Oregonians Experience Oregon: Web Exhibits Play Oregon: Games and More

How do I...?


Facebook and e-mail icons Facebook Contact us

Home > Local > Counties > Benton County

Benton County

Apperson Hall on Oregon State University Campus.

Apperson Hall on Oregon State University Campus. (Oregon State Archives Photo)

Map index | Next county


County Seat: 408 SW Monroe Ave., Corvallis 97333, 205 NW 5th St., Corvallis 97330
Phone: 541-766-6800 (General); 541-766-6859 (Court Administrator)
Fax: 541-766-6675


Population (2016): 91,320
Established: Dec. 23, 1847
Elev. at Corvallis: 224'
Area: 679 sq. mi.
Average Temp.: January 39.3° July 65.6°
Assessed Value: $7,998,241,690
Real Market Value: $13,165,595,090
Annual Precipitation: 42.71"
Economy: Agriculture, forest products, research and development, electronics and wineries


Benton County map

Related resources
Historical Records Inventory
Scenic Image
"County QuickFacts" (population and economic data from U.S. Census Bureau)
County Seat Map (from Yahoo! Maps)
County Map (from ODOT)


Incorporated cities
Adair Village | Albany | Corvallis | Monroe | Philomath


Points of interest
Benton County Courthouse, Oregon State University Campus, Benton County Museum (Philomath), Alsea Falls, Mary’s Peak, William L. Finley National Wildlife Refuge, Peavy Arboretum, McDonald Forest, Jackson-Frazier Wetland.


History and general information
Benton County was created from Polk County by an act of the Provisional Government of Oregon in 1847. It is one of seven counties in the United States to be named after Senator Thomas Hart Benton of Missouri, a longtime advocate of the development of the Oregon Territory. The county was created out of an area originally inhabited by the Klickitat Tribe, who rented it from the Kalapuya Tribe for use as hunting grounds. At that time, the boundaries began at the intersection of Polk County and the Willamette River, ran as far south as the California border and as far west as the Pacific Ocean. Later, portions of Benton County were taken to form Coos, Curry, Douglas, Jackson, Josephine, Lane and Lincoln Counties, leaving it in its present form with 679 square miles of land area.


Oregon State University, agriculture, and lumber and wood products manufacturing form the basis of Benton County’s economy. A substantial portion of the nation’s research in forestry, agriculture, engineering, education and the sciences takes place at OSU.


County officials
Commissioners—Xanthippe “Xan” Augerot (D) 2021, Annabelle Jaramillo (D) 2021, Anne Schuster (D) 2019; Dist. Atty. John Haroldson 2021; Assess. Tami Tracy; Clerk James Morales; Sheriff Scott Jackson 2019; Surv. Joe Mardis; Tax Collector Mary Otley; Public Information Officer Lili’a Neville


Map index | Next county