Find Oregon icon; Meet Oregon icon Marcus Mariota (AP Photo/Chris Pietsch); Experience Oregon icon (mural by Casey McEneny); Play Oregon icon Find Oregon: Almanac Meet Oregon: Notable Oregonians Experience Oregon: Web Exhibits Play Oregon: Games and More

How do I...?


Facebook and e-mail icons Facebook Contact us

Home > Local > Counties > Douglas County

Douglas County

The North Umpqua River and fall foliage near Fall Creek in the Cascade Mountains.

The North Umpqua River and fall foliage near Fall Creek in the Cascade Mountains. (Oregon State Archives Photo)

Map index | Next county


County Seat: Courthouse, 1036 SE Douglas Ave., Roseburg 97470
Phone: 541-440-4323 (General); 541-957-2409 (Court Administrator)
Fax: 541-440-6292


Population (2016): 110,395
Established: Jan. 7, 1852
Elev. at Roseburg: 475'
Area: 5,071 sq. mi.
Average Temp.: January 41.2° July 68.4°
Assessed Value: $8,909,642,035
Real Market Value: $14,446,431,483
Annual Precipitation: 33.35"
Economy: Forest products, mining, agriculture, fishing and recreation


Douglas County map

Related resources
Historical Records Inventory
Scenic Image
"County QuickFacts" (population and economic data from U.S. Census Bureau)
County Seat Map (from Yahoo! Maps)
County Map (from ODOT)


Incorporated cities
Canyonville | Drain | Elkton | Glendale | Myrtle Creek | Oakland | Reedsport | Riddle | Roseburg | Sutherlin | Winston | Yoncalla


Points of interest
Winchester Bay, Salmon Harbor, Oregon Dunes National Recreation Area, North Umpqua River, Diamond Lake, historic Oakland, Wildlife Safari, Douglas County Museum, wineries


History and general information
Douglas County was named for U.S. Senator Stephen A. Douglas, Abraham Lincoln’s opponent in the presidential election of 1860 and an ardent congressional advocate for Oregon. Douglas County was created in 1852 from the portion of Umpqua County which lay east of the Coast Range summit. In 1862, Douglas County absorbed what remained of Umpqua County.

Douglas County extends from sea level at the Pacific Ocean to 9,182-foot Mount Thielsen in the Cascade Range. The Umpqua River marks the dividing line between northern and southern Oregon, and its entire watershed lies within the county’s boundaries. The county contains nearly 2.8 million acres of commercial forest lands and the largest stand of old growth timber in the world, which still provides the region’s main livelihood. Approximately 25 percent of the labor force is employed in the forest products industry. Agriculture includes field crops, orchards and livestock. Over 50 percent of the land area of the county is federal public land.


County officials
Commissioners—Chris Boice 2019, Tim Freeman 2019, Gary Leif 2021; Dist. Atty. Richard Wesenberg 2021; Assess. Roger Hartman 2019; Clerk Patricia Hitt 2021; Justices of the Peace Candace Hissong 2019, Stephen H. Miller 2019, Carol Roberts 2019, Russell Trump 2021; Sheriff John Hanlin 2021; Surv. Kris DeGroot 2019; Treas. Dick Filley 2021


Map index | Next county