Find Oregon icon; Meet Oregon icon Marcus Mariota (AP Photo/Chris Pietsch); Experience Oregon icon (mural by Casey McEneny); Play Oregon icon Find Oregon: Almanac Meet Oregon: Notable Oregonians Experience Oregon: Web Exhibits Play Oregon: Games and More

How do I...?


Facebook and e-mail icons Facebook Contact us

Home > Local > Counties > Grant County

Grant County

The Fremont Powerhouse in the Blue Mountains. (Oregon State Archives Photo)

The Fremont Powerhouse in the Blue Mountains. (Oregon State Archives Photo)

Map index | Next county


County Seat: Courthouse, 201 S Humbolt St., Suite 290, Canyon City 97820
Phone: 541-575-1675 (General); 541-575-1438 (Court Administrator)
Fax: 541-575-2248


Population (2013): 7,435
Established: Oct. 14, 1864
Elev. at Canyon City: 3,194'
Area: 4,528 sq. mi.
Average Temp.: January 30.7° July 68.4°
Assessed Value: $530,312,157
Real Market Value: $1,229,908,960
Annual Precipitation: 14.28"
Economy: Forest products, agriculture, hunting, livestock and recreation


Grant County map

Related resources
Historical Records Inventory
Scenic Image
"County QuickFacts" (population and economic data from U.S. Census Bureau)
County Seat Map (from Yahoo! Maps)
County Map (from ODOT)


Incorporated cities
Canyon City | Dayville | Granite | John Day | Long Creek | Monument | Mt. Vernon | Prairie City | Seneca


Points of interest
John Day Fossil Beds National Monument, Veteran’s Memorial, Kam Wah Chung Museum, Joaquin Miller Cabin, Grant County Historical Museum, Sacred Totem Pole, Grant County Historical Mural, Dewitt Museum, Depot Park, Sumpter Valley Railroad, Strawberry Mountain Wilderness and North Fork John Day River Wilderness


History and general information
Grant County was created in 1864 from Wasco and Umatilla Counties and was named for General Ulysses S. Grant. It shares boundaries with more counties (eight) than any other county in Oregon.


Grant County contains the headwaters of the John Day River, which has more miles of Wild and Scenic designation than any other river in the United States. More than 60 percent of the land in the county is in public ownership.


County officials
County Court—Boyd Britton 2019, Chris Labhart 2017, Judge Scott Myers 2019; Dist. Atty. Jim Carpenter 2019; Assess. Lane Burton 2017; Clerk Brenda Percy 2019; Justice of the Peace Kathleen Stinnett 2019; Sheriff Glenn Palmer 2017; Surv. Mike Springer 2017; Treas. Kathy Smith 2017


Map index | Next county