Find Oregon icon; Meet Oregon icon Marcus Mariota (AP Photo/Chris Pietsch); Experience Oregon icon (mural by Casey McEneny); Play Oregon icon Find Oregon: Almanac Meet Oregon: Notable Oregonians Experience Oregon: Web Exhibits Play Oregon: Games and More

How do I...?


Facebook and e-mail icons Facebook Contact us

Home > National > Oregon's Indian Tribes > Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation

Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation

A teepee at the Museum at Tamástslikt Cultural Institute on the Umatilla Indian Reservation. (Scenic photo No. umaDA0007)

A teepee at the Museum at Tamástslikt Cultural Institute on the Umatilla Indian Reservation. (Oregon State Archives Photo umaDA0007)

Next tribe


Address: 46411 Ti’ mine Way, Pendleton 97801
Phone: 541-276-3165

Treaty Date: June 9, 1855; 12 Stat. 945
Number of Members: 3,016
Land Base Acreage: 172,000 acres
Number of people employed by the Tribes: 1,645

Prior to the 1855 Treaty, the tribes’ economy consisted primarily of intertribal trade, livestock, trade with fur companies, hunting, fishing and gathering. Today, the economy includes agriculture, livestock, tourism, a travel plaza, grain elevator, the Wildhorse Resort (casino, hotel, RV Park, golf course), Tamástslikt Cultural Institute, Cayuse Technologies, and Coyote Business Park, a 520-acre commercial and light industrial business development on the Interstate 84 Highway. The reservation is also home to the Umatilla National Forest Supervisor’s Office.

Points of interest
Tamástslikt Cultural Institute, Wildhorse Resort & Casino, Wildhorse Golf Course, Nix-yá-wii Warriors Memorial, Crow’s Shadow Institute of the Arts, Indian Lake Recreation Area, seasonal upland gamebird and turkey hunting

Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation Map

History and culture
Three tribes make up the CTUIR: Cayuse, Umatilla and Walla Walla. They have lived on the Columbia River Plateau for over 10,000 years, an area of about 6.4 million acres in what is now northeastern Oregon and southeastern Washington. In 1855, the tribes and the United States government negotiated a treaty in which the tribes ceded 6.4 million acres, while reserving a section of land for their exclusive use in the form of a reservation. The CTUIR reserved rights in the treaty, including fishing and hunting rights and the right to gather traditional foods and medicines
within the ceded areas.


The traditional religion of the tribes is called “Washat” or “Seven Drums.” Native languages are still spoken, and a language preservation program is helping to re-establish the languages.

Tribal court
Tribal Judge William Johnson, 46411 Ti’ mine Way, Pendleton 97801; 541-276-2046

Tribal council
2015–2017: Chairman Gary Burke, General Council Chair Alan Crawford, Vice-Chair Jeremy Wolf, Treasurer Rosenda Shippentower, Secretary David Close, Members at Large: Armand Minthorn, Justin Quaempts, Aaron Ashley and Woodrow Star


Next tribe