Find Oregon icon; Meet Oregon icon Marcus Mariota (AP Photo/Chris Pietsch); Experience Oregon icon (mural by Casey McEneny); Play Oregon icon Find Oregon: Almanac Meet Oregon: Notable Oregonians Experience Oregon: Web Exhibits Play Oregon: Games and More

How do I...?


Facebook and e-mail icons Facebook Contact us

Home > State > Executive > Public Employees Retirement System > Agency Subdivisions

Public Employees Retirement System: Agency Subdivisions

PERS home


Public Employees Retirement Board
Address: PO Box 23700, Tigard 97281-3700
Phone: 503-598-7377
Contact: John Thomas, Chair
Statutory Authority: ORS 238.630


Duties and Responsibilities: The Public Employees Retirement Board is responsible for maintaining a solid, affordable retirement plan, recognizing that PERS’ continued stability and viability depends on the ability of public employers and taxpayers to pay the costs of the system. The board also ensures the plans comply with federal laws for tax-qualified benefit trusts. Regular bimonthly meetings are held at PERS headquarters in Tigard.

The board is comprised of three people with experience in business management, pension management, or investing who are not PERS members. One person is either an employee of the state in a management position or a person who holds an elective office in the governing body of a participating public employer other than the state, and one person represents public employees and retirees. Board members are appointed by the governor and confirmed by the Senate for three-year terms.

Oregon Savings Growth Plan Advisory Committee
Address: 800 Summer St. NE, Salem 97301
Phone: 503-378-3730
Contact: Mark Carlton, Chair


Duties and Responsibilities: The Oregon Savings Growth Plan (OSGP) is a federal Internal Revenue Code, section 457, deferred compensation plan that allows employees of an OSGP participating public employer to contribute a portion of their salary on a pre-tax basis. Contributions and earnings con­tinue to grow tax-deferred until distribution. All Oregon state employees are eligible, as well as employees of local governments and school districts if their employer has adopted the plan through action of their governing body. The OSGP Advisory Committee consists of four state employees, two local government employees and one retiree. Meetings are held quarterly in the State Archives Building in Salem.


PERS home