Find Oregon icon; Meet Oregon icon Marcus Mariota (AP Photo/Chris Pietsch); Experience Oregon icon (mural by Casey McEneny); Play Oregon icon Find Oregon: Almanac Meet Oregon: Notable Oregonians Experience Oregon: Web Exhibits Play Oregon: Games and More

How do I...?


Facebook and e-mail icons Facebook Contact us

Home > State > Legislative > Members of the Oregon Senate

Members of the Oregon Senate

President of the Senate Peter Courtney

President of the Senate Peter Courtney

President of the Senate
Peter Courtney (Democrat, District 11) was born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, on June 18, 1943. He graduated with bachelor and master degrees from the University of Rhode Island and received a law degree from Boston University. Courtney was first elected to the Salem City Council in 1974 where he served until 1981. He began serving in the House of Representatives in 1981 and was first elected to the Senate in 1998. He is serving a record seventh term as president of the Oregon Senate.


Courtney is retired from Western Oregon University, where he was an adjunct professor and served as assistant to University President Mark D. Wiess. He has served on the Salem Mass Transit Board, the United Way Board, and the Board of Directors for the YMCA, and he has coached for the Boys and Girls Club.


Courtney has worked as a political commentator for The 10 O’Clock News at KPTV, Channel 12, Portland, and at KSLM Radio, Salem. He married his wife Margie in 1976. They have three sons, Peter, Sean and Adam, two daughters-in-law and one grandson.


Members of the Senate


Images: B to G Delta down


Baertschiger, Herman

Beyer, Lee

Boquist, Brian

Burdick, Ginny

Courtney, Peter

DeBoer, Alan
Dembrow, Michael

Devlin, Richard

Ferrioli, Ted

Frederick, Lew

Gelser, Sara

Girod, Fred


Images: H to Ri Delta down


Hansell, Bill

Hass, Mark

Johnson, Betsy

Knopp, Tim

Kruse, Jeff

Linthicum, Dennis

Manning, Jr. James I.

Monnes-Anderson, Laurie

Monroe, Rod

Olsen, Alan

Prozanski, Floyd

Riley, Chuck


Images: Ro to W Delta down


Roblan, Arnie

Steiner Hayward, Elizabeth

Taylor, Kathleen

Thatcher, Kim

Thomsen, Chuck

Winters, Jackie